Home Page

Information about governors

When High Down Schools federated we formed a single Board of Governors working on behalf of both schools. The governing body has  a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement. Its responsibilites include but are not limited to:


  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • managing the school's finances
  • making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • appointing staff
  • reviewing staff performance and pay
  • ensuring the premises are safe and providing a stimulating environment


The governing body should act as a 'critical friend' to the Headteacher by proving advice, support and by asking questions.



Current Board of Governors

Mrs Sonia Goddard (Chair)

Mr Rob Audain (Co Vice Chair)

Mrs Penny Atherton

Mrs Andreya Cowan

Mr James Hollis

Mrs Heather Kirkpatrick

Mr Joe Lee

Mrs Denise Major

Cllr Sue Mason

Mrs Sue Parker

Mr Ron Steven

Mrs Sarah Jackson

Mrs Simone Vaughan

Mrs Francoise Johnstone

Mrs Tamsyn Grant

Mrs Gail Meacock

Beckie Collard

Nolan Hibberd

Monette DeBaun Stransom



You can contact the Chair of Governors via the school office - 01275 843969

Governors Roles and Responsibilities